Our School

Student Council

 “Leadership is not about a title or a designation. It’s about impact, influence and inspiration. Impact involves getting results, influence is about spreading the passion you have for your work, and the capability you have to inspire team-mates”.

Student councils are powerful leadership and learning opportunities. The purpose of the student council is to give students an opportunity to develop leadership by organizing and carrying out school activities and service projects.  In addition to planning events that contribute to school spirit and community welfare, the student council is the voice of the student body.

Student House System

The four houses of our school are Nalanda, the red house, Takshashila, the blue house, Vallabhi, the yellow house, and Vikramashila, the green house. The houses have been named after ancient learning centers of India. The ancient Universities were known for the holistic education they imparted. We, at NPS Jayanagar, also strive to ensure our students have all the skills to carve a niche for themselves in future. 

Every house is led by a housemistress and house teachers who anchor all the house activities and provide the students with requisite direction and encouragement to learn the skills of leadership, coordination and teamwork.


Nalanda House – is named after Nalanda University, one of the first Universities in the world. This University was founded in the 5th century BC and was also said to be a large Buddhist monastery in the ancient kingdom of Magadha. Nalanda flourished under the patronage of the Gupta Empire in the 5th and 6th centuries and later under Harsha, the emperor of Kannauj . The establishment of the ancient Nalanda was attractive for all seekers of pure knowledge. “Manifestation of Perfection” is the motto of Nalanda House.


Takshashila House is named after the Takshashila University. This ancient learning center was founded by Chandragupta Maurya, the emperor of the Mauryan empire. Some of the students who graduated out of the Takshashila University included the great political master Chanakya, Panini and Charaka. Students from across the world used to come here to attain specialization in over 64 different fields of study like Vedas, grammar, philosophy, ayurveda, agriculture, surgery, politics, archery, warfare, astronomy, commerce, futurology, music, dance, etc. “Truth and Tenacity Triumphs” is the motto of Takshashila House.


Vallabhi House is named after the Vallabhi University, founded in the 8th century BC, which was an important centre of Buddhist learning. Brahmanical sciences were also taught here along with the doctrines of Buddhism. Apart from religious sciences, courses offered included Political Science, Statesmanship, Business, Agriculture, Administration, Theology and Accountancy “To infinity and beyond” is the motto of Vallabhi House.


Vikramashila House is named after the Vikramashila University. It was one of the most important Buddhist learning centres in India. This University was established by King Dharmapala of the Pala dynasty, and was founded in 9th century BC. Vikramashila was one of the largest Buddhist Universities, withmore than one hundred teachers and about one thousand students. Subjects like philosophy, grammar, metaphysics, Indian logic were taught here. “A Tradition of Excellence” is the motto of Vikramashila House.